Hearings

On September 14 and 15, the Supreme Court of Canada will hear two appeals and you are invited to participate. Thanks to the Superior Court of Quebec, the two hearings will be heard in the biggest room at the courthouse.  


Cases

Quebec City courthouse
Hearing at the Palais de justice de Québec

His Majesty the King v. Pascal Breault

Hearing of September 14, 2022 (Webcast of hearing) | On Appeal from the Court of Appeal of Quebec (Appeal Reserved)

The Supreme Court of Canada will decide whether police must have an approved testing device with them when they order someone to provide a breath sample.

Early in the afternoon of April 2, 2017, police were looking for someone reported to be driving an all-terrain vehicle (ATV) while drunk. They stopped Pascal Breault, who was walking away from a parked ATV at a campsite near Quebec City. The officers wanted to take a breath sample from Mr. Breault, but they did not have an approved screening device (ASD) to do so. They radioed nearby officers to obtain a device.

While still waiting for the device, police ordered Mr. Breault to provide a breath sample. Mr. Breault repeatedly refused, so the officers placed him under arrest. The testing device had not yet arrived. It never did because the officers eventually cancelled their request and charged Mr. Breault with failing to comply with a demand by police to take a breath test.

The law

The Criminal Code says police can demand someone provide a breath sample immediately if that person is suspected of drinking and driving within the last three hours. The test must be done using an ASD. When a person blows into the device, the ASD provides officers with a reading that determines if there is sufficient alcohol in someone’s body to warrant a full breathalyzer test. Anyone who refuses to take the test with the ASD without a reasonable excuse commits an offence.

The lower courts

A municipal court in Quebec found Mr. Breault guilty, and Quebec’s Superior Court dismissed his appeal. He then turned to the Quebec Court of Appeal, which allowed his appeal and acquitted him of the charge. The Court of Appeal said police must have an ASD with them when they order someone to take a breath test, so the person can immediately comply with the order. The Crown appealed to the Supreme Court of Canada.

Questions for the Supreme Court

This case raises important issues, such as whether police officers must have an ASD with them when they order someone to provide a breath sample, or whether police can keep someone waiting while they get the device.

Impact and Interveners

The Court’s decision could affect policing decisions across Canada. For this reason, various organizations have applied to be “interveners” in this case. Interveners are people or groups who get permission from the Court to provide context on legal questions, although the case does not affect them directly. They submit their arguments in writing. Some are also allowed to make their arguments at the hearing. Interveners offer judges different perspectives to consider when making their decisions.

More information (case #39680): Case information | Factums (written arguments from both sides)
Lower court rulings: Trial (Quebec City Municipal Court) (in French only) | Appeal (Quebec Superior Court) (in French only) | Appeal (Quebec Court of Appeal)

PDF version

This Case Pre-Brief was prepared by communications staff of the Supreme Court of Canada to help the public better understand Court’s work. It does not form part of the Court’s reasons for judgment and is not for use in legal proceedings.

Janick Murray-Hall v. Attorney General of Quebec

Hearing of September 15, 2022 (Webcast of hearing) | On Appeal from the Court of Appeal of Quebec (Appeal Reserved)

The Supreme Court of Canada will decide whether Quebec’s ban on growing cannabis plants for personal use is constitutional.

In 2019, Janick Murray-Hall challenged Quebec’s ban on owning and growing cannabis plants for personal use. Mr. Murray-Hall claims the Quebec law is unconstitutional and contradicts the federal cannabis law. He is arguing the case on behalf of everyone in that province who might be fined for owning and growing cannabis plants.

The law

In 2018, the federal government enacted a law about cannabis. It says people cannot own or grow more than four cannabis plants at home. Provinces and territories then enacted their own laws to regulate practical issues such as how cannabis can be sold and stored. In Quebec, the government enacted a law banning people from owning and growing cannabis plants for personal use. If caught, people could be fined between $250 and $750.

The lower courts

Mr. Murray-Hall brought his case to Quebec’s Superior Court. He argued that the Quebec government did not have the authority to ban cannabis plants. He said that only the federal government has that power as a matter of criminal law, which is federal jurisdiction under section 91(27) of Canada’s Constitution. Alternatively, Mr. Murray-Hall argued the Quebec ban should be declared of no force or effect because the federal law should prevail over the provincial law.

The judge agreed and declared the Quebec ban unconstitutional. The Attorney General of Quebec appealed that decision on behalf of the province.

The Court of Appeal of Quebec disagreed and ruled the ban was constitutional, because it pertains to matters of provincial jurisdiction under two other sections of the Constitution: section 92(13), which allows provinces to make laws related to property and civil rights; and section 92(16), which permits them to make laws of a local or private nature within a province. That outcome meant Quebeckers could not own or grow cannabis plants.

Questions for the Supreme Court

The Supreme Court will decide whether Quebec’s ban on growing cannabis plants for personal use is constitutional. The case also raises important legal questions for the entire country, such as whether these federal and provincial laws are compatible with one another, or whether one prevails.

Impact and Interveners

This decision could affect cannabis laws in other provinces. For this reason, the provincial attorneys general can intervene in this case. However, any other interested people or groups must apply to the Court to become interveners. Interveners provide context on the legal questions, although the case does not affect them directly. They submit their arguments in writing. Some are also allowed to make their arguments at the hearing. Interveners offer judges different perspectives to consider when making their decisions.

More information (case #39906): Case information | Factums (written arguments from both sides)
Lower court rulings: Trial (Quebec Superior Court) | Appeal (Quebec Court of Appeal) (in French only)

PDF version

This Case Pre-Brief was prepared by communications staff of the Supreme Court of Canada to help the public better understand Court’s work. It does not form part of the Court’s reasons for judgment and is not for use in legal proceedings.


How hearings are conducted at the Supreme Court of Canada

When the judges enter the courtroom, everyone should stand. Judges sit at the bench, facing the courtroom in order of seniority based on the date they were appointed to the Supreme Court. If you are facing the bench, appellants sit on the left hand side of the court, while respondents sit on the right. Interveners sit on either side, behind the appellants and respondents.

A section of the public gallery is reserved for journalists.

The hearing officially starts when Chief Justice Richard Wagner introduces all lawyers by name. Usually, the Court will then hear from:

  • the lawyer for the appellant
  • intervenors who each have five minutes to express their concerns about the legal issue
  • counsel for the respondent
  • more intervenors
  • a final, short reply from the appellant

The judges will have already read everyone’s written arguments, and may interrupt to ask questions.

When the hearing is suspended or adjourned, everyone should stand again as the judges leave the courtroom. Everyone must leave the courtroom once the hearing is over.

Judges or lawyers may speak in either English or French during the hearing. There will be interpretation devices available in the courtroom and overflow room so you can follow in the language of your choice.

At the end of the hearing, members of the court may decide from the Bench where they make an immediate oral decision. However it is more common for the Court to reserve its decision and provide it at a later date in writing.

Definitions

Appellant: the individual, company, government or organization that requested the appeal of a lower court decision

Intervener: parties such as public interest groups and government representatives who present different points of view on the legal questions and issues before the Court

Respondent: the party opposing the appellant

Reserve: appeals that haven’t been decided yet


Instructions for entering the Palais de justice de Québec

The Supreme Court of Canada will hear two cases in Courtroom 4.01 on the fourth floor of the Quebec City courthouse.  

His Majesty the King v. Pascal Breault will be heard September 14, 2022 at 9:30 a.m.

Janick Murray-Hall v. Attorney General of Quebec is scheduled for September 15, 2022 at 9:30 a.m.

The courthouse opens at 7:30 a.m., Monday to Friday. You may access the building at the main entrance on Jean-Lesage Boulevard (east side of the building).
Please note that there is a parking lot (for a fee) adjacent to the courthouse. It connects to the building.

Palais de justice de Québec, Marc-André-Bédard Building, 300 Jean-Lesage Blvd, Quebec, Quebec, G1K 8K6


Security Screening Measures

Get there early to give yourself plenty of time to get through security screening (like airport security). Follow the signs in this regard. The security screening will start at 8:00 a.m. Your personal belongings contained in bags (limited to clutch or wallet purse style bags) will be submitted to a visual inspection. Please bring only what is necessary. Any other bags will not be authorized and no storage will be available.


Seating in the Public Gallery of the Courtroom

Seats will be available to the public on a first-come, first-served basis with a ticket. Tickets will be available at your arrival to the Palais de justice, after getting through security screening.

We expect the courtroom will be busy. To accommodate as many people as possible, there will be an overflow room available where people can watch the hearings on a video screen.

To make sure as many people can see the hearings in person as possible, there may be a rotation system.

Members of the public can leave the courtroom at any time they wish. To avoid causing a disturbance, it may be best to wait until there is a seating rotation or a court break.


Official photography and video

Official photographers will take photos during the hearings. Please note that you may be photographed. Photos may be used on the Court’s social media and publications. They may also be shared with media for publication.

The hearings will be filmed, webcast, and archived on the Supreme Court website.


Use of electronic devices and photography by members of the public in the Courtroom

Members of the public attending a hearing must turn off all electronic devices, while they are in the Courtroom unless it is necessary for accessibility purposes. No one may take photographs or make any audio or video recording of a hearing, and no one may disseminate such photographs or recordings, in whole or in part.

The Senior Associate Chief Justice of the Superior Court of Québec has given permission to take pictures inside the courtroom (and post them online) before and after the hearing. Absolutely no photos can be taken once the judges are in the room or during the hearing


Did you know?

Three of the nine judges of the Court have to be from the province of Québec. Traditionally, there are also three judges from Ontario, two from the West, and one from Atlantic Canada.

The three judges from the province of Québec currently sitting at the Supreme Court of Canada are:

The SCC’s current Registrar, Ms. Chantal Carbonneau is from the province of Québec.

Although masks or face coverings are no longer mandatory in most public places, it is recommended to wear them during the hearings and the meetings with the judges.

Audiences

Les 14 et 15 septembre prochains, la Cour suprême du Canada entendra deux appels à Québec et vous êtes invités à y assister. Grâce à la générosité de la Cour supérieure du Québec, les deux affaires seront entendues dans la grande salle d’audience du palais de justice.


Affaires

Salle d'audience du palais de justice de Québec
Audience au palais de justice de Québec

Sa Majesté le Roi c. Pascal Breault

Audience du 14 septembre 2022 (Diffusion Web de l'audience) | En appel de la Cour d’appel du Québec (Appel en délibéré)

La Cour suprême du Canada décidera si les policiers doivent avoir un appareil de détection approuvé à leur disposition lorsqu’ils ordonnent à quelqu’un de fournir un échantillon d’haleine.

Le 2 avril 2017 en début d’après-midi, des policiers recherchaient un individu qui, selon l’information reçue, conduisait un véhicule tout-terrain (VTT) en état d’ébriété. Ils ont arrêté Pascal Breault, alors qu’il s’éloignait à pied d’un VTT stationné à un site de camping situé tout près de Québec. Les policiers voulaient que M. Breault fournisse un échantillon d’haleine, mais ils n’avaient pas en leur possession un appareil de détection approuvé (ADA) à cette fin. Ils ont demandé, sur les ondes radio, à des policiers qui étaient à proximité de leur apporter un tel appareil.

Pendant qu’ils attendaient l’appareil, les policiers ont ordonné à M. Breault de fournir un échantillon d’haleine. M. Breault a refusé à plusieurs reprises, les policiers l’ont donc mis en état d’arrestation. L’appareil de détection n’avait toujours pas été livré sur les lieux. Il ne l’a jamais été puisque les policiers ont fini par annuler leur demande, et ont accusé M. Breault d’avoir refusé de se conformer à l’ordre donné par un policier de fournir un échantillon d’haleine.

La loi

Selon le Code criminel, un policier peut demander à quelqu’un de fournir immédiatement un échantillon d’haleine s’il soupçonne que cette personne a conduit en état d’ébriété au cours des trois heures précédentes. L’échantillon doit être fourni à l’aide d’un ADA. Lorsqu’une personne souffle dans l’ADA, les policiers sont en mesure de déterminer, à la lecture du résultat, s’il y a suffisamment d’alcool dans l’organisme de cette personne pour justifier que celle-ci soit soumise à un alcootest exhaustif. Toute personne qui refuse de se soumettre à un tel test à l’aide d’un ADA, sans excuse raisonnable, commet une infraction.

Les tribunaux inférieurs

Une cour municipale au Québec a déclaré M. Breault coupable, et la Cour supérieure du Québec a rejeté l’appel formé par ce dernier. Il s’est ensuite adressé à la Cour d’appel du Québec, qui a accueilli son appel et l’a acquitté de l’accusation pesant contre lui. La Cour d’appel a affirmé que les policiers doivent avoir un ADA en leur possession lorsqu’ils ordonnent à quelqu’un de fournir un échantillon d’haleine, afin que cette personne puisse immédiatement se conformer à l’ordre donné. La Couronne a porté cette décision en appel devant la Cour suprême du Canada.

Questions devant être tranchées par la Cour suprême 

Cette affaire soulève d’importantes questions, comme celle de savoir si les policiers doivent avoir un ADA à leur disposition lorsqu’ils ordonnent à quelqu’un de fournir un échantillon d’haleine, ou si les policiers peuvent faire attendre la personne jusqu’à ce qu’ils disposent d’un appareil.

Incidence de la décision et intervenants

La décision de la Cour pourrait avoir une incidence sur les décisions relatives au maintien de l’ordre partout au Canada. Pour cette raison, différentes organisations ont demandé d’obtenir le statut d’« intervenants » dans cette affaire. Les intervenants sont des personnes ou des groupes qui obtiennent la permission de la Cour pour mettre en contexte certaines questions juridiques, même si l’affaire ne les touche pas directement. Ils présentent des arguments par écrit. Certains sont aussi autorisés à présenter leurs arguments en personne lors de l’audience. Ces interventions permettent aux juges de prendre connaissance de différentes perspectives à considérer avant de rendre leurs décisions.

Pour de plus amples renseignements (dossier no 39680) : Renseignements sur le dossier | Mémoires (arguments écrits des deux parties)
Décisions des tribunaux inférieurs : Procès (Cour municipale de la Ville de Québec) | Appel (Cour supérieure du Québec) | Appel (Cour d’appel du Québec)

Version PDF

La cause en bref préliminaire a été préparée par le personnel des communications de la Cour suprême du Canada afin d’aider le public à mieux comprendre les décisions de la Cour. La cause en bref ne fait pas partie des motifs de jugement de la Cour et ne doit pas être utilisée lors de procédures judiciaires.

Janick Murray-Hall c. Procureur général du Québec

Audience du 15 septembre 2022 (Diffusion Web de l'audience) | En appel de la Cour d’appel du Québec (Appel en délibéré)

La Cour suprême du Canada décidera si l’interdiction de cultiver des plantes de cannabis à des fins personnelles au Québec est constitutionnelle.

En 2019, Janick Murray-Hall a contesté l’interdiction de possession et de culture de plantes de cannabis à des fins personnelles au Québec. M. Murray-Hall soutient que la loi québécoise est inconstitutionnelle et qu’elle contredit la loi fédérale sur le cannabis. Il plaide l’affaire au nom de toutes les personnes dans la province qui pourraient se voir imposer une amende parce qu’elles possèdent ou font la culture de plantes de cannabis.

La loi

En 2018, le gouvernement fédéral a adopté une loi portant sur le cannabis. Suivant cette loi, les gens ne peuvent avoir en leur possession ou cultiver plus de quatre plantes de cannabis à domicile. Les provinces et les territoires ont par la suite adopté leurs propres lois afin de réglementer des questions pratiques comme les modalités relatives à la vente et à l’entreposage du cannabis. Au Québec, le gouvernement a adopté une loi qui interdit aux gens de posséder et de cultiver des plantes de cannabis à des fins personnelles. Les gens qui sont pris en contravention de cette loi peuvent se voir imposer une amende de 250 $ à 750 $.

Les tribunaux inférieurs

M. Murray-Hall a présenté sa cause devant la Cour supérieure du Québec. Il a plaidé que le gouvernement du Québec n’avait pas le pouvoir d’interdire les plantes de cannabis. Il a fait valoir que seul le gouvernement fédéral a un tel pouvoir en matière de droit criminel, qui relève de la compétence fédérale que lui confère le paragraphe 91(27) de la Constitution du Canada. Subsidiairement, M. Murray-Hall a soutenu que l’interdiction au Québec devrait être déclarée inopérante puisque la loi fédérale devrait l’emporter sur la loi provinciale.

La juge lui a donné raison et a déclaré l’interdiction québécoise inconstitutionnelle. Le procureur général du Québec a porté cette décision en appel au nom de la province.

La Cour d’appel du Québec n’était pas de cet avis et a jugé que l’interdiction était constitutionnelle, car elle portait sur des questions qui relèvent de la compétence provinciale en vertu de deux autres dispositions de la Constitution, soit le paragraphe 92(13), qui permet aux provinces d’édicter des lois en matière de propriété et de droits civils, et le paragraphe 92(16), qui leur permet d’édicter des lois de nature locale ou privée dans la province. Ce résultat a fait en sorte que les Québécois et les Québécoises ne peuvent pas posséder ou faire la culture de plantes de cannabis.

Questions devant être tranchées par la Cour suprême

La Cour suprême examinera la question de savoir si l’interdiction de la culture de plantes de cannabis à des fins personnelles au Québec est constitutionnelle. L’affaire soulève également d’importantes questions juridiques pour l’ensemble du pays, comme celle de savoir s’il y a compatibilité entre la loi fédérale et une telle loi provinciale, ou si l’une d’entre elles l’emporte sur l’autre.

Incidence de la décision et intervenants

Cette décision pourrait avoir une incidence sur les lois relatives au cannabis dans d’autres provinces. Pour cette raison, les procureurs généraux provinciaux peuvent intervenir dans cette affaire. Toutefois, toute autre personne ou tout autre groupe ayant un intérêt doit demander à la Cour d’obtenir le statut d’intervenant. Les intervenants mettent en contexte certaines questions juridiques, même si l’affaire ne les touche pas directement. Ils présentent des arguments par écrit. Certains sont aussi autorisés à présenter leurs arguments en personne lors de l’audience. Ces interventions permettent aux juges de prendre connaissance de différentes perspectives à considérer avant de rendre leurs décisions.

Pour de plus amples renseignements (dossier no 39906) : Renseignements sur le dossier | Mémoires (arguments écrits des deux parties)
Décisions des tribunaux inférieurs : Procès (Cour supérieure du Québec) | Appel (Cour d’appel du Québec)

Version PDF

La cause en bref préliminaire a été préparée par le personnel des communications de la Cour suprême du Canada afin d’aider le public à mieux comprendre les décisions de la Cour. La cause en bref ne fait pas partie des motifs de jugement de la Cour et ne doit pas être utilisée lors de procédures judiciaires.


Comment se déroulent les audiences de la Cour suprême du Canada

Quand les juges entrent dans la salle d’audience, tout le monde doit se lever. Dans la salle d’audience, les juges prennent place sur la tribune en ordre de préséance, selon la date de leur nomination à la Cour suprême. Si vous faites face aux juges, la partie appelante est assise à votre gauche et la partie intimée, à votre droite. Les parties intervenantes s’assoient à droite ou à gauche, derrière la partie appelante ou intimée.

Une section de la tribune est réservée pour les journalistes.

L’audience commence officiellement quand le juge en chef Richard Wagner nomme les procureurs des parties. La Cour entend ensuite :

  • l’avocat ou l’avocate de la partie appelante;
  • les parties intervenantes, lesquelles disposeront chacune de cinq minutes pour exprimer leurs préoccupations sur la question juridique;
  • l’avocat ou l’avocate de la partie intimée;
  • d’autres parties intervenantes;
  • une brève réplique finale de la partie appelante.

Les juges auront déjà lu les mémoires de toutes les parties et ils peuvent interrompre les avocats pour leur poser des questions.

Quand l’audience est suspendue ou ajournée et que les juges quittent la salle d’audience, toutes les personnes présentes doivent à nouveau se lever. Tout le monde doit sortir de la salle une fois l’audience terminée.

Les juges et les avocats peuvent s’exprimer en français ou en anglais pendant l’audience. Des dispositifs d’interprétation seront mis à votre disposition dans la salle d’audience ainsi que dans la salle de débordement afin de vous permettre d’écouter l’audience dans la langue de votre choix.

À la fin de l’audience, il arrive que les juges rendent leur décision sur le banc, de vive voix. Cependant, le plus souvent, ils mettent leur décision en délibéré et la rendent ultérieurement par écrit.

Définitions

partie appelante : Personne, société, gouvernement ou organisme qui fait appel d’une décision d’un tribunal inférieur.

parties intervenantes : Parties telles des groupes de défense de l’intérêt public et des représentants de gouvernements qui présentent des points de vue différents sur les questions de droit et autres questions soumises à la Cour.

partie intimée : Partie qui s’oppose à la partie appelante.

en délibéré : Appels qui n’ont pas encore été tranchés.


Instructions pour entrer au palais de justice de Québec

La Cour suprême du Canada entendra deux affaires dans la salle d’audience 4.01, située au 4e étage du palais de justice de Québec.

Sa Majesté le Roi c. Pascal Breault sera entendue le 14 septembre 2022 à 9 h 30.

Janick Murray-Hall c. Procureur général du Québec doit être entendue le 15 septembre 2022 à 9 h 30.

Le palais ouvre à 7 h 30 du lundi au vendredi et il est accessible par l’entrée principale qui se trouve du côté du boulevard Jean-Lesage (côté est de l’édifice).
À noter qu’il y a un stationnement (payant) qui est attenant au palais de justice et qui communique avec l’édifice.

Palais de justice de Québec, Édifice Marc-André-Bédard, 300, boulevard Jean-Lesage, Québec (Québec), G1K 8K6


Mesures pour le contrôle de sécurité

Arrivez tôt afin de vous donner beaucoup de temps pour passer le contrôle de sécurité (comme à l’aéroport). Suivez la signalisation à cet effet. Le contrôle de sécurité débutera à 8 h 00. Vos effets personnels contenus dans des sacs (limités aux sacs à main de type pochette ou portefeuille,) seront soumis à un examen visuel. Prière d’apporter uniquement ce qui est nécessaire. Tous autres sacs ne sont pas permis et aucune consigne ne sera disponible.


Places dans la tribune du public de la salle d’audience

Des places seront mises à la disposition du public selon la règle du premier arrivé, premier servi, au moyen d’un billet. Vous pourrez vous procurer votre billet lors de votre arrivée au palais de justice, après avoir passé le contrôle de sécurité.

Nous nous attendons à ce que la salle d’audience soit remplie à pleine capacité. Afin d’accueillir le plus de personnes possible, nous aménagerons une salle de débordement où les membres du public pourront regarder les audiences sur un écran vidéo.

Pour veiller à ce que le plus grand nombre possible de personnes puissent assister aux audiences en personne, nous pourrons faire des rotations.

Les membres du public peuvent sortir de la salle d’audience selon leur gré. Il est toutefois recommandé d’attendre lors d’une rotation ou d’une pause de l’audience, afin d’éviter de perturber le déroulement de l’audience.


Photographies officielles et vidéos

Des photographes officiels prendront des photos au cours des audiences. Veuillez noter que vous pourriez être pris en photo. Les photos peuvent être utilisées sur les médias sociaux et dans les publications de la Cour. Elles peuvent également être transmises aux médias pour publication.

Les audiences seront filmées et diffusées sur Internet et archivées sur le site Internet de la Cour.


Usage de dispositifs électroniques et prise de photos par le public dans la salle d’audience

Les membres du public qui assistent à une audience doivent éteindre tout appareil électronique lorsqu’ils sont dans la salle d’audience, sauf si nécessaire pour des raisons d’accessibilité. Il est interdit de prendre des photographies ou de procéder à un enregistrement sonore ou vidéo d’une audience ou de diffuser de telles photographies ou de tels enregistrements, que ce soit en tout ou en partie.

La juge en chef associée de la Cour supérieure  du Québec a donné l’autorisation de prendre des photos à l’intérieur de la salle d’audience (et de les publier en ligne) avant l’ouverture de l’audience et après sa clôture. Aucune photo ne peut être prise quand les juges sont dans la salle ou durant l’audience.


Le saviez-vous?

Trois des neuf juges de la Cour doivent provenir du Québec. Traditionnellement, trois autres juges proviennent de l’Ontario, deux de l’ouest et un du Canada Atlantique.

Les trois juges du Québec siégeant présentement à la Cour suprême du Canada sont :

La registraire actuelle de la Cour, madame Chantal Carbonneau, est originaire du Québec.

Bien que le port du masque ou du couvre-visage ne soit plus obligatoire dans la plupart des lieux publics, il est recommandé durant les audiences et les rencontres avec les juges.