Disclosure of Expenses claimed under various allowances (for the judges of the SCC)

Pursuant to sections 90.06 to 90.09 of the Access to Information Act

Preamble

Canada has three separate and equal branches of state: (a) the Executive branch (i.e. the Prime Minister and Cabinet), which decides policy; (b) the Legislative branch (Parliament, i.e. the House of Commons and the Senate), which debates and passes laws and (c) the Judicial branch, being the courts, which interpret and apply laws once they are passed. Judicial independence is a cornerstone of the Canadian judicial system. That is why, under the Constitution, the Judicial branch is separate from and independent of the other two branches of government. Judicial independence guarantees that judges will be able to make decisions free of influence and based solely on fact and law.

The principle of judicial independence has three components:

Security of tenure: once appointed, a judge of the Supreme Court of Canada is eligible to serve until the mandatory retirement age of 75.

Financial security: judges must be guaranteed sufficient compensation (including salary and pension) so that they are not subjected to pressure for financial considerations.

Administrative independence: No one can interfere with how courts manage the judicial process and exercise their judicial functions. For example, the Chief Justice can decide how cases are assigned to the judges of the Court.

The manner in which judges’ remuneration, pensions, benefits and allowances are administered is set out in the Judges Act, enacted by Parliament.

Under that same act, the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada is responsible for the administration of allowances provided to the judges of the Court under the Judges Act, including the approval of all claims submitted for reimbursement.

Reimbursements must adhere to the following principles: value for money, accountability, transparency, and respect for judicial independence.

Application of the Access to Information Act

Bill C-58, An Act to amend the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act and to make consequential amendments to other Acts, received Royal Assent on June 21, 2019, thereby bringing into force important changes to openness and transparency in government. Bill C-58 adds a new part to the Access to Information Act that requires institutions to proactively publish specific information or documents that are known to be of interest to the public and which will provide greater transparency in relation to the use of public funds. These requirements apply, among others, to administrative institutions that support the courts.

The provisions of the Access to Information Act in relation to the institutions that support the courts came into force one year after Royal Assent, namely on June 21, 2020. As a result, the Office of the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada is required to publish certain information relating to expenses reimbursed to the judges of the Court as part of the incidental, representational, travel and conference allowances which are made available to them under the Judges Act, within 30 days of the end of the quarter in which expenses are reimbursed. The proactive publication requirement does not extend to information whose disclosure could interfere with the principle of judicial independence, as well as with matters of security and solicitor-client privilege, as determined by the Registrar of the Supreme Court of Canada. The use, if any, of such an exemption, will nonetheless be indicated and the amounts exempted identified.

This first publication covers reimbursements to judges during the months of April, May and June 2020.

The information on this website will be updated every three months, as of July 31, 2020.

Publication of judges’ expenses per quarter

Divulgation des dépenses dont le remboursement est demandé au titre de diverses indemnités (juges de la CSC)

En application des articles 90.06 à 90.09 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Préambule

L’État canadien compte trois pouvoirs distincts et égaux : a) le pouvoir exécutif (constitué du premier ministre et du Cabinet) qui établit les politiques; b) le pouvoir législatif (c’est-à-dire le Parlement, par exemple la Chambre des communes et le Sénat) qui adopte les lois après en avoir débattu et c) le pouvoir judiciaire (les tribunaux) qui interprète les lois, une fois qu’elles sont adoptées. L’indépendance judiciaire est une pierre angulaire du système judiciaire canadien. C’est pourquoi, selon la Constitution, le pouvoir judiciaire est distinct et indépendant des deux autres organes du gouvernement. L’indépendance judiciaire garantit que les juges sont en mesure de rendre des décisions libres de toute influence et fondées exclusivement sur les faits et le droit.

Elle comporte trois éléments :

L’inamovibilité : Signifie qu’une fois nommé, un juge de la Cour suprême du Canada peut occuper sa charge jusqu’à l’âge de la retraite, soit 75 ans.

La sécurité financière : Signifie que les juges doivent recevoir une rémunération suffisante (salaires et pension) pour éviter de faire l’objet de pressions pour des raisons financières.

L’indépendance administrative : Signifie que personne ne peut s’ingérer dans la gestion des procès par les tribunaux ni dans l’exercice des fonctions judiciaires. Par exemple, c’est le juge en chef qui décide de l’attribution des causes aux juges de la Cour.

La manière dont la rémunération, les pensions, les avantages et les allocations des juges sont administrés est définit dans la Loi sur les juges, adoptée par le Parlement.

En vertu de cette même loi, le registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada est responsable de l’administration des indemnités accordées aux juges de la Cour en vertu de la Loi sur les juges, y compris toutes les demandes de remboursement soumises pour son approbation.

Les remboursements doivent respecter les principes suivants : l’optimisation des ressources; l’imputabilité; la transparence; le respect de l’indépendance judiciaire.

Application de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information

Le projet de loi C-58, Loi modifiant la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, a reçu la sanction royale le 21 juin 2019, apportant d’importantes améliorations en matière d’ouverture et de transparence au gouvernement. Le projet de loi C-58 ajoute une nouvelle partie à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information qui oblige les institutions à publier de façon proactive des renseignements particuliers d’intérêt pour le public, afin d’être plus transparent et de faire preuve de plus de responsabilisation quant à l’utilisation des fonds publics. Ces exigences s’appliquent, entre autres, aux institutions administratives qui soutiennent les tribunaux.  

Les dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information applicables à toutes les institutions qui appuient les tribunaux entreront en vigueur un an après la date de la sanction royale, soit le 21 juin 2020. Par conséquent, le Bureau du registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada doit publier certaines informations relatives aux dépenses remboursées aux juges de la Cour à titre d’indemnité pour les faux frais, d’indemnité pour les frais de représentation, d’indemnité de déplacement et d’indemnité de conférence qui leur sont accordées en vertu de la Loi sur les juges, dans les trente jours suivant le trimestre au cours duquel les dépenses sont remboursées. L’exigence en matière de publication proactive ne s’étend pas aux renseignements dont la divulgation pourrait porter atteinte au principe de l’indépendance judiciaire, ainsi qu’aux questions de sécurité et de privilège avocat-client, tel que déterminé par le registraire de la Cour suprême du Canada.  Le cas échéant, le recours à une telle exemption sera néanmoins indiqué et les montants exemptés seront identifiés.

Cette première publication couvre les remboursements aux juges durant les mois d’avril, mai et juin 2020.

Les informations contenues dans ce site Web seront mises à jour à tous les trois mois, à compter du 31 juillet 2020.

Publication des dépenses des juges par trimestre