Case in Brief

R. v. Landry

The Supreme Court upholds the verdict by which a former Sûreté du Québec police officer was convicted of defrauding his employer. 

Nicolas Landry became a police officer with the Sûreté du Québec (SQ) in 2001. In 2009, his family doctor recommended that he stop working temporarily because of health problems. His inability to work was confirmed and extended for several years. That said, while he was off work, Mr. Landry performed a number of activities as a manager in his former spouse’s travel agencies and travelled frequently.

In 2014, Mr. Landry met with a physician-arbitrator to have his inability to perform his work as a police officer assessed. During that meeting, Mr. Landry minimized his role in the travel agencies and negatively presented the state of his psychological health in general. The SQ had information about Mr. Landry’s activities at the travel agencies before that meeting, but it did not share it with the physician‑arbitrator. The physician‑arbitrator found that Mr. Landry was permanently unable to perform his duties as a police officer. The SQ did not contest these findings. Because of his permanent disability, Mr. Landry was entitled from then on to his full salary, including all of his employment-related benefits, until his retirement in 2026.

Further to the physician‑arbitrator’s report, the SQ’s professional standards division began investigating Mr. Landry. The investigation eventually led to a formal charge of fraud over $5,000 being laid against him.

A Court of Québec judge convicted Mr. Landry of defrauding the SQ and sentenced him to six months’ imprisonment. In the judge’s opinion, the Crown had proved all the constituent elements of the offence of fraud: the commission of a dishonest act, prejudice or risk of prejudice to the victim’s financial interests, and subjective knowledge that the dishonest act could result in prejudice to others. According to the judge, the material non-disclosure by Mr. Landry of the true nature of his role within the travel agencies constituted a dishonest act. Furthermore, Mr. Landry knew that his dishonest acts could result in financial prejudice to the SQ, or put it at risk of prejudice, if it had to pay him his full salary until his retirement because of his untruthful allegations.

A majority of the Quebec Court of Appeal agreed with the trial judge and dismissed the appeal. One judge would have allowed the appeal. In her opinion, despite the dishonest acts that Mr. Landry was accused of, he did not cause actual prejudice or a risk of prejudice to the SQ’s interests. Because the SQ did not contest the physician‑arbitrator’s findings and because Mr. Landry clearly had a disability, the Sûreté du Québec was obligated to pay him his full salary. Furthermore, given that the SQ had information about Mr. Landry’s activities and concealed it from the physician‑arbitrator, it could not claim that it was deceived and put at risk of prejudice. For these reasons, the dissenting judge would have replaced the verdict of fraud with a verdict of attempted fraud, which carries a lower sentence. 

Mr. Landry appealed to the Supreme Court of Canada.

The Supreme Court has dismissed the appeal.

As a result, the verdict of fraud is upheld.

Justice Karakatsanis read the majority judgment of the Court.

A print version of the judgment that was read out will be available here once finalized.

Cases in Brief are prepared by communications staff of the Supreme Court of Canada to help the public better understand Court decisions. They do not form part of the Court’s reasons for judgment and are not for use in legal proceedings.

La cause en bref

R. c. Landry

La Cour suprême confirme le verdict déclarant un ancien policier de la Sûreté du Québec coupable d’avoir fraudé son employeur.

Monsieur Nicolas Landry est devenu policier à la Sûreté du Québec (SQ) en 2001. En 2009, son médecin de famille a recommandé un arrêt de travail temporaire en raison de troubles de santé. Son incapacité de travailler a été confirmée et prolongée pendant plusieurs années. Cela dit, durant son arrêt de travail, M. Landry exerçait plusieurs activités comme dirigeant au sein des agences de voyage de son ex-épouse et il voyageait fréquemment.

En 2014, M. Landry a rencontré un médecin-arbitre aux fins d’évaluation de son incapacité à exercer son travail de policier. Lors de cette rencontre, M. Landry a minimisé son rôle dans les agences de voyage et présenté négativement son état de santé psychologique en général. La SQ possédait des informations à propos des activités de M. Landry au sein des agences de voyage avant cette rencontre, mais ne les a pas partagées avec le médecin-arbitre. Ce dernier a conclu à l’incapacité permanente de M. Landry d’accomplir ses fonctions de policier. La SQ n’a pas contesté ces conclusions. En raison de son incapacité permanente, M. Landry avait dorénavant droit à son plein salaire, incluant tous les avantages sociaux liés à son emploi, jusqu’à sa retraite en 2026.

À la suite du rapport du médecin-arbitre, la Direction des normes professionnelles de la SQ a déclenché une enquête visant M. Landry. Cette enquête a en définitive mené au dépôt d’une accusation formelle de fraude de plus de 5 000$ contre lui.

Un juge de la Cour du Québec a déclaré M. Landry coupable d’avoir fraudé la SQ et l’a condamné à six mois d’emprisonnement. À son avis, le ministère public avait prouvé tous les éléments constitutifs de l’infraction de fraude, soit : la commission d’un acte malhonnête; un préjudice ou un risque de préjudice aux intérêts financiers de la victime; ainsi qu’une connaissance subjective que l’acte malhonnête pourrait causer un préjudice à autrui. Selon le juge, la dissimulation importante par M. Landry de la nature véritable de son rôle au sein des agences de voyage constituait un acte malhonnête. De plus, M. Landry savait que ses actes malhonnêtes pourraient causer un préjudice financier à la SQ, ou risquer de causer un tel préjudice à cette dernière, si elle devait lui payer son plein salaire jusqu’à sa retraite en raison d’allégations mensongères.

Les juges de la Cour d’appel du Québec ont à la majorité donné raison au juge de première instance et rejeté l’appel. Une juge aurait accueilli l’appel. À son avis, malgré les actes malhonnêtes qui lui ont été reprochés, M. Landry n’a pas causé un préjudice réel ou un risque de préjudice aux intérêts de la SQ. Étant donné que la SQ n’a pas contesté les conclusions du médecin-arbitre et que M. Landry était clairement invalide, elle avait l’obligation de lui payer son plein salaire. Comme la SQ possédait aussi des informations qu’elle a cachées au médecin-arbitre concernant les activités de M. Landry, elle ne pouvait prétendre avoir été trompée et exposée à un risque de préjudice. Pour ces motifs, la juge dissidente aurait remplacé le verdict de fraude par un verdict de tentative de fraude, qui entraîne une peine moins sévère.  

Monsieur Landry a interjeté appel à la Cour suprême du Canada.

La Cour suprême a rejeté l’appel.

En conséquence, le verdict de fraude est confirmé.

La juge Karakatsanis a lu le jugement majoritaire de la Cour.

Une version imprimée du jugement livré du banc sera disponible ici une fois que le document aura été mis au point.

La cause en bref est un document rédigé par le personnel des communications de la Cour suprême du Canada afin d’aider le public à mieux comprendre les décisions de la Cour. La cause en bref ne fait pas partie des motifs de jugement de la Cour et ne doit pas être utilisée lors de procédures judiciaires.