Important information you need to know if you have been served with an application for leave to appeal

  1. What does this mean?
  2. Where can I get help?
  3. How much will this cost?
  4. What happens after the applicant has sent the application for leave to appeal to the Court?
  5. Instructions and forms

1. What does this mean?

Before an appeal is heard by the Supreme Court of Canada in a civil case, and this is also true in most criminal cases, the person wishing to bring the appeal (the applicant) must ask the Supreme Court of Canada in writing for leave (permission) to do so.   If you have been served with an application for leave to appeal, this means that the applicant has sent a written application for leave to appeal (leave application) to the Court.   If you are named as a respondent and the leave application is accepted for filing, you may file a written response to the application.


2. Where can I get help?

It is highly recommended that you get a lawyer.  Only a lawyer can give you legal advice.  A lawyer is also in the best position to assist you in framing the legal issues, and to give you advice on the process and your chances of success.  Therefore, even if you do represent yourself, you should talk to a lawyer about your case. 

Pro Bono Ontario has a list of lawyers who can help low-income, self-represented persons with an application for leave to appeal.  You may apply for assistance by filling out the application form on the Pro Bono Ontario website.

You can also browse the Court's website for sources that make legal information available to the general public. Many of these sources also provide information on how you can find a lawyer or where you can get free or low-cost legal services.


3. How much will this cost?

There is no fee for filing a response.  However, the Court will charge you $75 for any motion you might file that is not filed with your response.

You should be aware that if the Court grants an application for leave to appeal in a civil case, it may order you to pay, in addition to filing fees paid to the Registrar, costs claimed by the applicant, even if you did not file a response.  You may also be ordered to pay costs if the appeal is ultimately successful.  Costs are generally not ordered in criminal cases.

Costs for applications for leave to appeal range from $800 to over $2000.  Costs on an appeal are much higher. You may therefore wish to consult a lawyer if you have been named as a respondent.   Only a lawyer will be able to provide you with an assessment of the merits of the case and the chances of success of the leave application


4. What happens after the applicant has sent the application for leave to appeal to the Court?

Your response is due within 30 days after the day on which a file is opened following the filing of an application for leave to appeal. As soon as a file number is assigned to the case, the Registry will send the number to counsel for the applicant in a letter, and you will receive a copy of the letter. 

If the leave application is brought by a party who is not represented by counsel:  The unrepresented applicant will receive an acknowledgement letter from the Registry which will indicate that the written leave application will be carefully reviewed by Court staff within 30 days.   You will receive a copy of this letter.  Once the leave application has been reviewed, the applicant will receive a second letter which will either inform the applicant of the file number assigned to the case OR explain why a file number has not been assigned.   You will also receive a copy of this second letter. 

If a file number is not assigned, you do not have to file a response.


5. Instructions and forms

We realize that filling out forms and court documents, as well as understanding the Court's Rules, can be complicated.  Registry staff cannot tell you whether the information you have provided is correct or complete, or give you legal advice.  To make things easier, we encourage you:

  • to consult the guide for information on what is expected of you, and for instructions to be followed, if you have been named as a respondent, and 
  • to use the forms included in the guide. If you use these forms, you do not need to worry about whether you have complied with the Rules of the Supreme Court of Canada; properly completing them will ensure that you have followed the Rules in their entirety.  Complete the forms to the best of your ability.  Use your own words.

Remember that Registry staff cannot help you fill out the forms.  You are expected to know your case and to put everything together, even if you do not have a lawyer.

Renseignements importants à connaître si on vous a signifié une demande d’autorisation d’appel

  1. Qu'est-ce que cela veut dire?
  2. Où trouver de l'aide?
  3. Combien cela va-t-il coûter?
  4. Qu'arrive-t-il une fois que le demandeur a présenté sa demande d'autorisation d'appel à la Cour?
  5. Instructions et formulaires

1. Qu'est-ce que cela veut dire?

Avant que la Cour suprême du Canada entende un appel en matière civile — et c'est également le cas pour la plupart des affaires criminelles —, la personne qui souhaite porter son appel devant la Cour suprême (le demandeur) doit en demander l'autorisation à la Cour par écrit.  Si on vous a signifié une demande d'autorisation d'appel, c'est que le demandeur a présenté une demande d'autorisation par écrit à la Cour.  Si vous êtes désigné comme intimé et que la demande d'autorisation d'appel est acceptée en vue du dépôt, vous pourrez déposer une réponse.


2. Où trouver de l'aide?

Il est fortement recommandé de retenir les services d'un avocat.  Seul un avocat peut vous donner des conseils juridiques.  L'avocat est également le mieux placé pour vous aider à énoncer les questions juridiques, à vous conseiller sur la procédure et à évaluer vos chances d'obtenir gain de cause.  Alors, même si vous décidez de vous représenter vous-même, vous devriez parler de votre dossier à un avocat.

Pro Bono Ontario a dressé une liste d’avocats qui peuvent aider les personnes à faible revenu non représentées à présenter une demande d’autorisation d’appel. Vous pouvez demander de l’aide en remplissant le formulaire sur le site de Pro Bono Ontario (en anglais seulement).

Vous pouvez également consulter le site Web de la Cour pour connaître les sources qui mettent de l’information juridique à la disposition du grand public. Bon nombre de ces sources fournissent également des renseignements sur la façon de trouver un avocat ou sur les organismes qui offrent des services juridiques gratuits ou à peu de frais.


3. Combien cela va-t-il coûter?

Aucun droit n'est exigible pour le dépôt d'une réponse.  Toutefois, un droit de 75 $ s'applique au dépôt de chaque requête qui n'est pas envoyée avec votre réponse. 

Veuillez noter que, si la Cour accorde l'autorisation d'appel en matière civile, elle pourrait vous ordonner de payer, en plus des droits éventuellement versés au registraire, les dépens réclamés par le demandeur, même si vous n'avez pas déposé de réponse.  Vous pourriez également avoir à payer les dépens si la partie appelante obtient gain de cause dans l'appel.  Généralement, les dépens ne sont pas accordés en matière criminelle.

Une demande d'autorisation d'appel entraîne des frais de 800 $ à plus de 2 000 $.  Les dépens à l'issue d'un appel s'élèvent généralement à beaucoup plus.  Vous pourriez donc vouloir consulter un avocat si vous avez été désigné comme intimé.  Seul un avocat peut évaluer le bien-fondé de l'affaire et les chances que le demandeur obtienne gain de cause


4. Qu'arrive-t-il une fois que le demandeur a présenté sa demande d'autorisation d'appel à la Cour?

Vous devrez déposer votre réponse dans les 30 jours suivant l'ouverture d'un dossier à la suite du dépôt de la demande d'autorisation d'appel. Dès qu'un numéro est attribué au dossier, le greffe en informe par lettre l'avocat du demandeur et vous en fait parvenir une copie.

Si la demande d'autorisation est présentée par une partie qui n'est pas représentée par un avocat, le greffe envoie un accusé de réception au demandeur l'informant que le dossier de demande d'autorisation sera soigneusement examiné par le personnel de la Cour au cours des 30 jours qui suivent.  Le greffe vous envoie une copie de l'accusé de réception.  Après l'examen du dossier de demande d'autorisation d'appel, selon le cas, le demandeur est informé par voie de lettre du numéro attribué au dossier OU il est informé des raisons ayant empêché l'attribution d'un numéro de dossier.  Le greffe vous envoie également une copie de cette lettre. 

Vous n'êtes pas tenu de déposer de réponse tant qu'un numéro de dossier n'est pas attribué.


5. Instructions et formulaires

Nous reconnaissons qu'il peut être compliqué de remplir des formulaires, de rassembler des documents judiciaires et de comprendre les Règles de la Cour.  Le personnel du greffe ne peut vous dire si les renseignements indiqués sont corrects ou complets ni ne peut vous donner des conseils juridiques. Pour vous faciliter la tâche, nous vous invitons :

  •  à consulter le guide pour obtenir des renseignements sur vos responsabilités et pour prendre connaissances des instructions à suivre si vous êtes désigné comme intimé. 
  • à utiliser les formulaires figurant dans le Guide. Si vous remplissez ces formulaires soigneusement, vous serez assuré d'avoir respecté toutes les dispositions des Règles de la Cour suprême du Canada.  Remplissez les formulaires de votre mieux.  Exprimez-vous en vos propres mots.

Rappelez-vous que le personnel du greffe ne peut pas vous aider à remplir les formulaires.  Vous connaissez sans doute bien votre cause et devriez être en mesure de préparer votre dossier, même sans les services d'un avocat.