Filing Documents after Leave is Granted or Notice of Appeal as of Right is Filed

After leave to appeal has been granted or a notice of appeal as of right has been filed, counsel will be required to file appeal documents. The procedures and timetable for filing these documents are explained below.

Appeal Procedure at the Supreme Court of Canada

The Court’s appeal procedure is governed by the Supreme Court Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. S-26, and the Rules of the Supreme Court of Canada.  

You must follow the Guidelines for Preparing Documents to be Filed with the Supreme Court of Canada (Print and Electronic) when preparing your appeal documents.  For information on appeal filing deadlines, please refer to the page on How to Calculate Deadlines for Serving and Filing Documents.

Links to some useful resources

Timetable and Hearing Date

After leave has been granted, you will receive a filing timetable that will include your tentative hearing date.

A firm hearing date will be set upon confirmation of the hearing by the Court. In the meantime, if you have any concerns about your tentative hearing date, you must contact a Senior Registry Officer of the Court Registry at 613-996-7771 or 613-996-7772 as soon as possible. Counsel are also required to advise the Registry if counsel expects that there will be applications for leave to intervene in the appeal.

Deliveries to the Registry

Documents are to be delivered to the West garage entrance of the Court building, unless you have fewer than four (4) boxes containing Court documents. These are to be delivered to the Registry. Please see the procedure on deliveries for more information.

Consequences of Missing Deadlines

If an appellant fails to serve and file a notice of appeal within the time set out in paragraph 58(1)(b) of the Act, a judge may dismiss the appeal as abandoned unless the time for serving and filing the notice is extended by a judge on a motion (Rule 65).

A respondent or an intervener who fails to file his or her factum within the time set out in Rule 36 or 37, as the case may be, may not present oral argument on the appeal unless a judge, on a motion, orders otherwise (Rule 71(3)).

Record of Court Appealed From

Although section 63 of the Supreme Court Act, R.S.C. 1985, c. S-26, indicates that the clerk of the court appealed from must transmit the record to the Supreme Court, the Registrar has asked counsel not to invoke this section. Section 63 can still be used, however, if counsel or the Court considers that the record is necessary for purposes of the appeal.

Dépôt de documents une fois l’autorisation accordée ou l’avis d’appel de plein droit déposé

Si l'autorisation d'appel est accordée ou une fois l'avis d'appel de plein droit déposé, le procureur est tenu de déposer les documents d'appel.  La procédure et l'échéancier à respecter pour le dépôt de ces documents sont expliqués dans les paragraphes qui suivent. 

Procédure d'appel à la Cour suprême du Canada

La procédure d'appel est régie par les dispositions de la Loi sur la Cour suprême, L.R.C. (1985), ch. S-26, et par les Règles de la Cour suprême du Canada.

Lors de la préparation des documents d'appel, vous devez vous conformer aux Lignes directrices pour la préparation des documents à déposer à la Cour suprême du Canada (versions imprimée et électronique).  Pour des renseignements sur le calendrier de dépôt, veuillez consulter Le calcul des délais fixés pour la signification et le dépôt de documents.

Liens utiles

Dates de dépôt et d'audience

Si l'autorisation d'appel est accordée, vous recevrez un échéancier indiquant les dates de dépôt de divers documents et la date prévisionnelle de l'audience.

La date définitive sera fixée sur confirmation de la Cour.  En attendant, si vous avez des commentaires quant à la date prévisionnelle, vous devez communiquer avec un agent principal du greffe, au 613-996-7771 ou au 613-996-7772, le plus tôt possible.  Les procureurs doivent également aviser le greffe s'ils prévoient que des demandes d'autorisation d'intervenir seront présentées.

Livraison au greffe

Les envois de quatre boîtes de documents et plus sont livrés à la guérite située à la porte ouest du garage.  Les envois de moins de quatre boîtes sont livrés au greffe.  Veuillez consulter la procédure relative aux livraisons pour un complément d'information.

Retards

Faute par l'appelant de signifier et de déposer l'avis d'appel dans le délai prévu à l'alinéa 58(1)b) de la Loi, l'appel peut être rejeté par un juge au motif de péremption, à moins qu'un juge ne proroge, sur requête, le délai de signification et de dépôt de l'avis d'appel (règle 65).

L'intimé ou l'intervenant qui omet de déposer son mémoire dans le délai prévu aux règles 36 ou 37, selon le cas, n'est pas admis à plaider en appel, sauf ordonnance contraire d'un juge sur requête (règle 71(3)).

Dossier de la juridiction inférieure

Même si l'article 63 de la Loi sur la Cour suprême, L.R.C. 1985, ch. S-26, prévoit que, dès réception du paiement des droits et frais de transmission voulus, le greffier de la juridiction inférieure expédie le dossier au registraire, ce dernier a donné pour directive aux procureurs de ne pas invoquer cette disposition.  Toutefois, il est possible de l'invoquer si le procureur ou la Cour estime que le dossier est nécessaire pour l'appel.