About the Judges

The Supreme Court of Canada consists of nine judges, including a chief justice to be called the Chief Justice of Canada. All judges are appointed by the Governor in Council and must have been either a judge of a superior court or a member of at least ten years' standing of the bar of a province or territory. The Chief Justice is sworn as a member of the Privy Council of Canada before taking the oath of office as Chief Justice.

The judges must devote themselves exclusively to their judicial duties. No judge may hold any other remunerative office or engage in any business enterprise. A judge holds office during good behaviour until he or she retires or attains the age of 75 years, but is removable for incapacity or misconduct in office before that time by the Governor General on address of the Senate and House of Commons.

The Chief Justice presides over all sittings of the Court at which he or she is present. The Chief Justice oversees the work of the Court by designating the panels of judges who are to hear the cases and motions brought before it.

In addition to his or her Court duties, the Chief Justice is chairperson of the Canadian Judicial Council, whose members include the chief justices and associate chief justices of the federal and provincial superior courts, and the senior judges of the territorial superior courts. This body, established by the Judges Act, has a mandate to promote efficiency, uniformity and accountability, as well as to improve the administration of justice throughout Canada.

The Chief Justice also chairs the Board of Governors of the National Judicial Institute. The National Judicial Institute develops and delivers various educational programs for all Canada's federal, provincial and territorial judges.

Moreover, the letters patent of 1947 respecting the office of Governor General provide that, should the Governor General die, become incapacitated, be removed or be absent from the country for a period of more than one month, the Chief Justice or, if the Chief Justice is unavailable, the senior judge amongst the eight other judges of the Supreme Court, would become the Administrator of Canada and exercise all the powers and authorities of the Governor General.

Finally, the Chief Justice of Canada also chairs the committee which advises the Governor General on awards of membership in the Order of Canada.

À propos des juges

La Cour suprême du Canada compte neuf juges, dont un juge en chef, appelé Juge en chef du Canada. Tous les juges sont nommés par le gouverneur en conseil et doivent être choisis parmi les juges d’une cour supérieure provinciale ou parmi les avocats inscrits pendant au moins dix ans au barreau d’une province ou d’un territoire. Avant de prêter son serment professionnel, le Juge en chef prête serment en qualité de membre du Conseil privé du Canada.

Les juges doivent se consacrer entièrement à leurs fonctions judiciaires. Ils ne peuvent remplir d’autres fonctions rétribuées, ni participer à une entreprise commerciale. Un juge occupe son poste à titre inamovible jusqu’à sa retraite ou jusqu’à l’âge de 75 ans, mais peut être révoqué par le gouverneur général, sur adresse du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes, pour incapacité ou mauvaise conduite dans l’exercice de ses fonctions.

Le Juge en chef préside les audiences de la Cour auxquelles il siège. Il supervise le travail de la Cour en désignant les juges qui entendront les affaires et les requêtes dont la Cour est saisie.

Outre ses fonctions judiciaires, le Juge en chef assume la présidence du Conseil canadien de la magistrature, composé des juges en chef et juges en chef adjoints ou associés des juridictions supérieures fédérales et provinciales, et des juges principaux des cours supérieures territoriales. Cet organisme, créé par la Loi sur les juges, a pour mission de promouvoir l’efficacité, l’uniformité et la responsabilité, ainsi que d’améliorer l’administration de la justice dans l’ensemble du Canada.

Le Juge en chef est également président du Conseil des gouverneurs de l’Institut national de la magistrature. L’Institut national de la magistrature conçoit et offre divers programmes de formation destinés à tous les juges fédéraux, provinciaux et territoriaux du Canada.

Les lettres patentes de 1947 constituant la charge du gouverneur général prévoient qu’en cas de décès, incapacité, renvoi ou absence du pays pour une période de plus d’un mois, le Juge en chef ou, si celui-ci n’est pas disponible, le doyen parmi les huit autres juges de la Cour suprême devient l’administrateur du Canada et exerce les pouvoirs et attributions du gouverneur général.

Enfin, le Juge en chef du Canada préside aussi le comité qui recommande au gouverneur général la nomination des récipiendaires de l’Ordre du Canada.