Request for Court Records

Information

As part of the Policy for Access to Supreme Court of Canada Court Records, the Supreme Court of Canada (SCC) will provide access to court records in any judicial proceeding before the Court to members of the public, media and parties to the judicial proceedings subject to limitations which may be imposed by privacy legislation or other restrictions imposed by a court order, such as publication bans.  Access is provided in a manner that balances the constitutional requirement of open courts against other rights and interests of the public and participants to judicial proceedings, namely privacy and security of individuals and the proper administration of justice.

To obtain copies of a court record (document or file) that cannot be obtained via a search on the SCC Case Information page, please fill out and submit the Request for Court Records form. Occasional requests for such records do not require prior registered access.

If you require regular access to Supreme Court of Canada court records which cannot be obtained via a search on the SCC Case Information page, you may apply to the Registrar for registered access using the Request for Registered Access to Court Records. Registered access is recommended if you require access to multiple court records in one case file, or to single or multiple court records in more than one case file.  Registered access, once granted, is valid for a period of 12 months, and is renewable. 

If you are requesting copies of case records for commercial purposes, please refer to the information provided under "Commercial Reproduction" and "Third-Party Material" in the Terms and conditions section of this website.

If you are requesting photographs, videos or webcasts, you must use the Request to use Supreme Court of Canada Photographs, Videos or Webcasts.

Processing Time

Requests are processed on a first-come, first-served basis and usually within 48 hours, but the processing time may vary depending on the number of documents requested.

Fees

Fees are payable to the Registrar for services related to access to Court records, such as photocopies, as set out in Schedule A to the Rules of the Supreme Court of Canada.

There is no fee for consulting a record in person at the Court.

The different methods of payment are indicated on the form. Please see the requirement for the method of payment when requesting Court documents.

Conditions for use

Information provided from the Court's case files is filed by the parties to the action, and may be amended from time to time. If the requested information is intended for redistribution or publication, please refer to the Terms and Conditions section of this website.

Any use of information contained in the Court record should comply with provincial and federal privacy, copyright and credit reporting legislation, as well as any other applicable law, and such information should not be used for any improper purpose.

Additional Information

For further information, please contact the Court's Records Centre either by email at records-dossiers@scc-csc.ca or by telephone at 613-996-7933 or at 1-888-551-1185.

Please consult the Policy for Access to Supreme Court of Canada Court Records for more information on access to court records.

The Policy for Access to Supreme Court of Canada Court Records has been amended.  If you require regular access to Supreme Court records which cannot be obtained via a search on the SCC Case Information page, you may apply to the Registrar for registered access. Registered access is recommended if you require access to multiple court records in one case file, or to single or multiple court records in more than one case file.  Registered access, once granted, is valid for a period of 12 months, and is renewable.

You can apply for registered access using the Request for Registered Access to Court Records.

Already registered? If you have forgotten your Registered Access Number, please contact the Court’s Records Centre by email, or by telephone at 613-996-7933 or at 1-888-551-1185.

Type of Requestor
Information About the Requestor
Information About the Requestor
Request

To assist the Court’s staff in processing your request, please provide the case number and/or case name, the type of document and, if applicable, the name of the party who filed the document and the date it was filed. To obtain this information, you can search the SCC Case Information (opens a new window) database, copy the description of the requested record and paste it in the text boxes below.

Purpose (required)
Delivery Method

Documents can be delivered by email, courier service (you must arrange and pay for delivery by courier yourself) or regular mail. It is also possible to pick up or consult documents in person at the Supreme Court of Canada Building, Registry Office, Room 156.

Documents can be delivered by email, courier service (you must arrange and pay for delivery by courier yourself) or regular mail. It is also possible to pick up or consult documents in person at the Supreme Court of Canada Building, Registry Office, Room 156.

Payment

Please do not provide your credit card number or send a cheque or money order until a Court staff member contacts you with the payment details. Payment must be received before the Court record(s) can be delivered or transmitted to you. Any cheque or money order must be made payable to the “Receiver General for Canada” and sent, together with a copy of the acknowledgment of receipt of your request, to:

Supreme Court of Canada
Records Centre
301 Wellington Street
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0J1

 

Comments

After the Records Centre has received your completed form, it will provide you with details on the fee for the requested documents.

Terms and Conditions

The requested material may be subject to certain terms and conditions (opens a new window), such as copyright and other restrictions.

Demande d'accès aux documents judiciaires

Information

En application de la Politique sur l'accès aux documents judiciaires de la Cour suprême du Canada, la CSC donne accès aux documents judiciaires liés à toute procédure intentée devant elle au public, aux médias et aux parties à l'instance en question, sous réserve des limites  restreignant l'accès à ces documents qui sont imposées soit par des mesures législatives sur la protection des renseignements personnels soit par des mesures judiciaires, par exemple des ordonnances de non-publication.  Cet accès est fourni d'une manière propre à assurer l'équilibre entre l'obligation constitutionnelle de publicité des débats et d'autres droits et intérêts du public et des participants aux procédures judiciaires, notamment le droit des gens à la sécurité de leur personne et au respect de leur vie privée, ainsi que la saine administration de la justice.

Pour obtenir une copie d’un document ou dossier judiciaire qu’on ne peut se procurer en faisant une recherche sur la page des Renseignements sur les dossiers de la Cour, veuillez remplir et envoyer le formulaire de demande d’accès aux documents judiciaires. Les personnes qui ne demandent qu'occasionnellement à consulter ces documents n'ont pas besoin de présenter au préalable une demande d'accès autorisé. 

Les personnes qui ont besoin de consulter sur une base régulière des documents judiciaires de la Cour suprême du Canada qu’on ne peut se procurer en faisant une recherche sur la page des Renseignements sur les dossiers de la Cour peuvent présenter au registraire une demande d'accès autorisé aux documents judiciaires. Une telle démarche est recommandée dans les cas où l'intéressé a besoin de consulter de nombreux documents dans un même dossier d'instance ou encore un ou plusieurs documents dans plus d'un dossier d'instance.  L’accès autorisé est accordé pour une période de 12 mois et est renouvelable.

Si vous demandez une copie d'un dossier d'instance de la Cour à des fins commerciales, veuillez consulter les rubriques « Reproduction à des fins commerciales » et « Documents appartenant à des tiers » dans la section Avis du présent site.

Si votre demande concerne des photographies, des enregistrements vidéo ou des diffusions Web, vous devez utiliser le formulaire Demande d'utilisation de photographies, d'enregistrements vidéo ou de diffusions Web de la Cour suprême du Canada.

Délai de traitement

Les demandes sont traitées par ordre d'arrivée. Règle générale, elles sont traitées dans les 48 heures de leur réception, mais ce délai peut varier selon le nombre de documents demandés.

Droits

L'annexe A des Règles de la Cour suprême du Canada régit les droits payables au registraire à l'égard de services (photocopies par exemple) ayant trait à l'accès aux documents judiciaires.

Aucun droit n'est exigé pour la consultation sur place des dossiers d'instance.

Le formulaire précise les différentes méthodes de paiement. Veuillez consulter l'exigence quant au paiement des demandes de documents judiciaires.

Conditions d'utilisation

L'information tirée des dossiers d'instance de la Cour a été fournie par les parties aux instances et il arrive qu'elle soit modifiée. Si l'information visée est demandée en vue d'être diffusée ou publiée, veuillez consulter la page "Avis" du présent site Web.

L'utilisation qui est faite des renseignements figurant dans les documents judiciaires doit respecter les lois provinciales et fédérales en matière de protection de la vie privée, de droits d'auteur et d'évaluation du crédit, ainsi que toute autre règle de droit applicable, et ces renseignements ne peuvent être utilisés à des fins irrégulières.

Informations supplémentaires

Pour obtenir plus d'informations, communiquez avec le Centre des dossiers par courriel à l'adresse records-dossiers@scc-csc.ca ou par téléphone au 613-996-7933 ou au 1-888-551-1185.

Pour plus de renseignements concernant l'accès aux documents judiciaires, consultez la Politique sur l'accès aux documents judiciaires de la Cour suprême.

La Politique sur l'accès aux documents judiciaires de la Cour suprême du Canada a été modifiée. Si vous avez fréquemment besoin d'obtenir des documents qu’on ne peut se procurer en faisant une recherche sur la page des Renseignements sur les dossiers de la Cour, vous pouvez demander au registraire de vous accorder un accès autorisé. Il est recommandé de le demander si vous avez besoin de consulter de nombreux documents dans un même dossier d'instance ou encore un ou plusieurs documents dans plus d'un dossier d'instance. L'accès autorisé est accordé pour une période de 12 mois et est renouvelable.

Pour faire la demande d'accès autorisé, veuillez remplir la Demande d'accès autorisé aux documents judiciaires.

L'accès autorisé vous a été accordé? Si vous avez oublié votre numéro d'accès autorisé, veuillez communiquer avec le Centre des dossiers de la Cour par courriel ou par téléphone au 613-996-7933 ou au 1-888-551-1185.

Type d'accès
Renseignements concernant le demandeur
Renseignements concernant le demandeur
Demande

Pour aider les employés de la Cour à traiter votre demande, veuillez fournir le numéro de dossier ou l'intitulé ou les deux, le type de document et le nom ou la raison sociale de la partie qui a déposé le document ainsi que la date du dépôt, le cas échéant. Pour trouver ces renseignements, il suffit de chercher dans la base de données Renseignements sur les dossiers (ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre) de la Cour. Il est possible de copier la description des documents obtenue et de la coller dans les cases ci-dessous.

Objet (obligatoire)
Mode de livraison

Les documents peuvent être transmis par courriel, par service de messagerie (réservé et payé par le demandeur) ou par la poste. Il est également possible de ramasser les documents ou de les consulter sur place en se présentant au greffe de la Cour suprême du Canada, pièce 156.

Les documents peuvent être transmis par courriel, par service de messagerie (réservé et payé par le demandeur) ou par la poste. Il est également possible de ramasser les documents ou de les consulter sur place en se présentant au greffe de la Cour suprême du Canada, pièce 156.

Paiement

Veuillez attendre que le personnel du Centre des dossiers vous communique le détail des droits à payer avant de fournir un numéro de carte de crédit ou d'envoyer un chèque ou un mandat-poste. Les droits doivent être acquittés avant la livraison ou la transmission des documents. Les chèques ou les mandats-poste doivent être libellés au nom du Receveur général du Canada puis envoyés à l'adresse suivante, accompagnés de l'accusé de réception confirmant la demande :

Cour suprême du Canada
Centre des dossiers
301, rue Wellington
Ottawa (Ontario)
K1A 0J1

Commentaires

Le Centre des dossiers vous informera des droits à acquitter pour acheter les documents demandés une fois qu'il aura reçu votre formulaire dûment rempli.

Modalités

Il se peut que certaines modalités et autres restrictions s'appliquent aux documents demandés, p. ex. le droit d'auteur. Vous trouverez un complément d'information dans la page des Avis (ouvre une nouvelle fenêtre).