Administration of the Court

The Registrar, who answers directly to the Chief Justice, is responsible for the management of the Court and exercises the quasi-judicial powers conferred by the Rules of the Court. The Registrar's management responsibilities include the appointment and supervision of Court staff, management of the Library and the Registry, and publication of the Canada Supreme Court Reports. The Registrar and the Deputy Registrar are both appointed by the Governor in Council. The Court's staff currently numbers approximately 200 employees, all of whom are members of the federal public service.

Each judge of the Court has three law clerks, usually recent law school graduates, who provide him or her with research assistance. The one-year term each clerk serves is regarded as meeting in whole or in part the articling requirements set by the various provincial law societies as a condition for admission to the practice of law. A judicial assistant and a court attendant are assigned to each judge to ensure the efficient management of the judge's office. An Executive Legal Officer, whose responsibilities include media relations in regard to the Members of the Court and to cases before the Court, and a Legal Officer are attached to the office of the Chief Justice.

The Court Operations Sector, composed of the Law Branch, Reports Branch, Registry Branch and Library and Information Management Branch, is responsible for the planning, direction and provision of legal advice and operational support to the Supreme Court judges respecting all aspects of the case management process, from the initial filing to the final judgment on an appeal. This includes the processing and recording of proceedings, scheduling of cases, legal and jurilinguistic services, legal research and library services, legal editing services and publication of the Canada Supreme Court Reports. Information management services, including case-related and corporate records information, are also provided by the Sector.

The Communication Services develops and implements communications strategies, plans and programs to increase public awareness and understanding of the Supreme Court of Canada, and to enhance internal communications within the Court.

Administrative and operational support for all the Court's judges and staff is provided by the Corporate Services Sector, which is responsible for: strategic, business and resource planning; corporate reporting; management accountability; modern management methods and tools; integrated risk management; finance; procurement; accommodation; administration (telecommunications, mail and printing services); human resources, security; health and safety; emergency management and preparedness; development, delivery and management of IT strategies, plans, policies, standards and procedures; as well as business continuity planning.

The Judicial Support and Protocol Branch is responsible for the delivery of all judicial support services to the judges of the Supreme Court of Canada, including protocol and judges' dining room services, the development and delivery of integrated judicial support programs and services, judicial administration, as well as the judges' Law Clerk Program.

The Registry

The Registry plays a pivotal role in the Court's operations. It is the hub of all procedural and documentary activities at the Court. The Registry is responsible for processing, recording and directing the flow of all documents filed by parties, as well as recording all steps and events during the life of a case. This information is available to the public at the Court and on its Website. The Registry also provides assistance in scheduling the Court's hearings and providing support during sittings, as well as in finalizing the documentation for all cases after judgment has been rendered. For more information, visit the Scheduled Hearings page.

The Canada Supreme Court Reports

The Court's decisions are published simultaneously in English and French in its official reports, the Canada Supreme Court Reports. All written and oral judgments and reasons for judgment are printed in their entirety along with a summary (called a headnote) of the reasons. The first reported case, published in 1877, was for an appeal heard in 1876 from the Supreme Court of Judicature of Prince Edward Island. Originally numbered in series from 1 to 64, the Reports have been identified since 1923 by their year of publication. In 1975, the printed reports grew from one to two volumes a year, and since 1990, three or four volumes have been published annually, each consisting of four to six parts issued periodically and containing an index and a table of cases cited. Judgments are made available electronically the day of their release.

The Library

With approximately 300,000 volumes, the Library of the Supreme Court of Canada provides a substantial research base for the Court to consult in performing its role of deciding questions of public importance. The Library's extensive collection includes statutes, law reports, periodicals and treatises from major common and civil law jurisdictions, such as Canada, the United Kingdom, the United States, Australia, New Zealand, France and Belgium. Its print, microform and electronic holdings are supplemented by access to a vast range of electronic networks and databases. Its collection is also enriched by a valuable collection of rare books printed in the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries that pertain to the common law of England and the civil law of France. In addition to serving the Supreme Court itself, the Library provides services to lawyers appearing before the Court, to members of the Bar, faculty members and students-at-law, and, by special permission, to legal researchers and members of the public.

The Registrars of the Supreme Court of Canada

Administration de la Cour

Le registraire, qui relève directement du Juge en chef, est responsable de l'ensemble de l'administration de la Cour et exerce les pouvoirs quasi judiciaires que lui confèrent les Règles de la Cour. Ses fonctions comprennent la nomination et la direction du personnel, l’administration de la bibliothèque et du greffe et la publication du Recueil des arrêts de la Cour suprême du Canada. Le registraire et le registraire adjoint sont nommés par le gouverneur en conseil. La Cour compte actuellement environ 200 employés qui sont tous membres de la fonction publique fédérale.

Chaque juge de la Cour a trois auxiliaires juridiques, habituellement de récents diplômés en droit, qui les aident dans leurs recherches. L’affectation d’un an des auxiliaires juridiques compte pour la totalité ou une partie du stage exigé pour leur admission aux divers barreaux provinciaux. Chaque juge peut compter sur une adjointe judiciaire et un huissier-audiencier pour assurer la bonne gestion de son cabinet. Un conseiller juridique principal, responsable notamment des relations avec les médias en ce qui concerne les juges et les dossiers de la Cour, et un conseiller juridique sont rattachés au cabinet du Juge en chef.

Le Secteur des opérations de la Cour, composé de la Direction générale du droit, de la Direction générale du recueil, de la Direction générale du greffe et de la Direction générale de la bibliothèque et de la gestion de l’information, est chargé de la planification, de la gestion et de la prestation des services juridiques et du soutien opérationnel aux juges de la Cour suprême relativement à tous les aspects de la gestion des instances, du dépôt de l’acte introductif d’instance jusqu’au jugement final sur l’appel. Ce secteur s’occupe du traitement des documents déposés par les parties, de la consignation des procédures et de l’établissement du calendrier des audiences, de la prestation des services juridiques et jurilinguistiques, des services de bibliothèque et de recherche juridique et des services de révision juridique et de publication du Recueil des arrêts de la Cour suprême du Canada. Il assure aussi les services de gestion de l’information, en ce qui concerne les documents relatifs aux instances et les documents généraux de la Cour.

Le Service des communications élabore et met en œuvre des stratégies, plans et programmes de communication afin d’informer le public sur la Cour suprême du Canada et d’améliorer les communications au sein de la Cour

Le Secteur des services intégrés est responsable du soutien administratif et opérationnel aux juges et au personnel de la Cour, soit la planification stratégique, la planification des activités et des ressources, les rapports généraux, la responsabilité administrative, les méthodes et outils de gestion modernes, la gestion intégrée des risques, les finances,  l’approvisionnement, les locaux, l’administration (télécommunications, courrier et impression), les ressources humaines, la sécurité, la santé et la sécurité au travail, la gestion et la préparation en cas de situation d’urgence, l’élaboration, la mise en œuvre et la gestion de stratégies, plans, politiques, normes et procédures relatives aux TI, ainsi que la planification de la continuité des activités.

La Direction générale des services d'appui aux juges et du protocole assure tous les services d’appui aux juges de la Cour suprême du Canada, notamment les services liés au protocole et à la salle à manger des juges, l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre de programmes et de services de soutien judiciaire intégrés, l’administration judiciaire et le programme des auxiliaires juridiques.

Le greffe

Le greffe joue un rôle essentiel dans le fonctionnement de la Cour. Il est le centre de toutes les activités de la Cour concernant les documents déposés et la procédure. Le greffe traite, enregistre et achemine tous les documents déposés par les parties, en plus de consigner chaque démarche et événement du début à la fin de l’instance. Le public peut consulter ces renseignements à la Cour même ou sur son site Web. Le greffe participe également à la planification et à la tenue des audiences de la Cour et s’occupe du traitement final des documents relatifs à chaque appel après le prononcé du jugement. Pour plus d'information, consultez la page des audiences prévues.

Le Recueil des arrêts de la Cour suprême du Canada

Les jugements de la Cour suprême sont publiés simultanément en français et en anglais dans son recueil officiel, le Recueil des arrêts de la Cour suprême du Canada. Cet ouvrage contient le texte intégral de tous les jugements et motifs de jugements écrits et oraux de la Cour, accompagnés d’un sommaire.  Le premier arrêt publié, en 1877, porte sur un appel entendu en 1876 contre une décision de la Cour suprême de Justice de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Les volumes du Recueil ont d’abord été numérotés en série de 1 à 64, puis à partir de 1923, désignés par l’année de leur publication.  Le Recueil est passé d’un volume à deux volumes par an en 1975 et, depuis 1990, à trois ou quatre volumes annuels comprenant chacun de quatre à six cahiers publiés périodiquement, un index et une table de jurisprudence. Une version électronique des jugements est disponible dès le jour de leur dépôt.

La bibliothèque

La bibliothèque de la Cour suprême du Canada, qui compte environ 300 000 ouvrages, fournit d’importants outils de recherche à la Cour pour trancher les questions d’importance pour le public qui lui sont soumises. Sa collection réunit des textes de loi, de la jurisprudence, des périodiques et des traités des principaux pays civilistes et de common law dont le Canada, le Royaume-Uni, les États-Unis, l’Australie, la Nouvelle-Zélande, la France et la Belgique. Le fonds de la bibliothèque, constitué d’imprimés, de documents électroniques et de microformes, est complété par l’accès à de nombreux réseaux et banques de données électroniques. Une précieuse collection de livres rares datant des XVIe, XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles et portant sur la common law d’Angleterre et le droit civil de France enrichit la collection. Outre la Cour suprême du Canada et les avocats comparaissant devant elle, la bibliothèque dessert les avocats en général, les notaires, les professeurs de droit, les étudiants en droit et, sur autorisation spéciale, les personnes effectuant des recherches juridiques et le public.

Les registraires de la Cour suprême du Canada